Justin Holman is CEO of Aftermarket Analytics, where he leads efforts to develop cutting edge sales forecasting and inventory optimization technology for the Automotive Aftermarket. Prior to joining Aftermarket Analytics, Justin managed corporate consulting for the Strategy & Analytics division at MapInfo Corporation, leading major projects for retail clients including The Home Depot, Darden Restaurants, Bridgestone-Firestone, Sainsbury’s and New York & Company. Before that, Justin served as Vice President of Software Development at LogicTools, now part of IBM's supply chain application software group. Justin holds a B.A. from Claremont McKenna College, a Ph.D. from the University of Oregon and an Executive Management certificate from Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Management.


  • Lesson 3 | Geographical Perspectives 5 years ago

    […] Blog post about Continents […]

  • Jim 3 years ago

    I can’t believe it. This is the most misleading article from a geography teach I haven’t ever seen. The definition of continent is exactly the opposite.

    There are really just 4 continents in the world:

    America (North and South combined)

    • Justin 3 years ago

      I think this quote says it all: “This is the most misleading article from a geography teach I haven’t ever seen.”

      Sorry to hear you didn’t actually see the article.

    • Pato 2 years ago

      In my opinion, there would be just three large enough landmasses whose continental crusts are independent

      – Euramerafrasia (Europe, America, Africa, Asia, sans Madagascar and Iceland)

      Eurasia and Africa are connected by the Sinai peninsula.
      Eurasia and America’s continental platforms are connected by the Bering strait, whose depth is never more than mere 49 meters.
      Madagascar, Iceland, and lesser islands not laying upon the continental platform do not belong to the continent.

      – Sahul (Australia and New Guinea)

      Australia and New Guinea are conneccted by the Arafura Sea.

      – Antarctica

    • STEVEN 3 months ago

      There are 6 continents:
      south am.
      north am.

  • Richard Garcia 2 years ago

    I believe in only 4 continents. AfroEurasia, the Americas (as a whole), Australia and Antarctica.

    • Justin 2 years ago

      Believe what you like, but “continent” = continuous land. That ain’t Australia or Antarctica.

      • James 2 months ago

        Your argument ignores the fact that the Americas are also a separate landmass. If Australia can’t be considered a continent because it is isolated from other continents then nor can the Americas. Therefore Eurasia/Africa being the biggest continuous continent is the only continent.
        If you include the Americas, what’s your justification, their size? You have picked an arbitrary size limit then. What is it based on?
        Australia not only has it’s own continental shelf, it has it’s own fricken tectonic plate: https://earthhow.com/7-major-tectonic-plates/ As does Antarctica.
        God help your students if you pass of this nonsense as an education.

  • Peter Keelback 6 months ago

    Oh no! Another blow to the status of my beloved country, Australia. So not only are we a small economy with an even smaller population, now we are just a dirty big island and not even the biggest one. Please don’t tell our Prime Minister. Our past ones love to swan about the world stage pretending we are an important and influential country. That’s why we end up in so many awful wars/conflicts that we shouldn’t be in and most Australians hate. 😀

  • Bryan b Yee 3 months ago

    This is the most scientifically illiterate thing I have read all week. There are 8 lithospheric plates that house individual continental landmasses. Eurasian, North American, Antarctic, South American, Australian, Arabian, and Indian. You should probably take a Geology 101 class, as your understanding of a continental plate (continent) and an island is significantly flawed.

    • Justin 3 months ago

      Hi Bryan,
      Thanks for your kind words. If you look up the word “continent” you’ll find it doesn’t have its origins in plate tectonics. So your argument is incontinent. See what I did there? 🙂

  • Keso 2 months ago

    I believe there are four continents. America, since I believe that North and South America are connected. Afro-Eurasia. Europe is not a continent, it’s connected to Asia. Eurasia is connected to Africa. Australia, it’s not really connected to another continent. Antarctica, which is kind of an exception since there are no countries on Antarctica.

  • ROMAN 2 months ago

    i know only 4 continets and that is Eurasia, Africa,n.America And S.America.

  • Joseph 6 days ago

    First of all Mr, Yee, it looks like you do not even acknowledge the existence of Africa. I would like to suggest that the only real continent id Africa because it has never moved. All others are man made imaginations and creations. It seems when the Europe names it and defines it, it comes into existence!!. This is all mercantilism at work with a world curved out and defined for the benefit of the European. It is true that just as in History, the story of the European’s experience is what we study in most of our disciplines; why not World Geography. Please give me something authentic to think about to debate!!

Leave a Reply